This is placeholder Text!
Before you read this article, you will need to know the following terms and definitions:
|Game(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A standalone version of Settlers of Catan, which can be played right out of the box without making additional purchases. There is only one standalone (base) game of Catan.|
|Expansion(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. An Catan game that cannot be played by itself. It must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The 5 & 6-player expansions are a good example of this.|
|Scenario(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A small set of playing pieces and instructions that can be added to normal Catan gameplay. It cannot be played by itself--it must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The "Oil Springs" scenario is a good example of this.|
|Variant(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A set of instructions for using the pieces from a Catan game or expansion in a new way. Most variants are fan-generated and require printing and cutting out new pieces.|
Tent (Type: Outpost)
The Council of Catan is eager to establish lookouts on the coasts, to warn Catanians of approaching danger (such as Barbarians). Therefore, they have encouraged the clans to build small, simple outposts.
You may build a Tent directly. Building a Tent requires 1 Wool Resource and 2 Lumber Resources. While Camps may be constructed on coastal intersections, they must always touch at least one land hex.
There are two ways to build an outpost:
- If one of your trade routes reaches an unoccupied coastal intersection, you may build an outpost on that intersection.
- An outpost built in this way costs 2 Lumber resources and 1 Wool resource.
- When you build an outpost in this way, the trade route between your outpost and your connected building(s) is considered “closed.” A ship, road, or bridge in a closed trade route may not be moved later.
- If either end of one of your Crew Ships has reached an unoccupied coastal intersection, you may build an outpost on this intersection. To build the outpost, place the outpost on the unoccupied coastal intersection adjacent to one of the ends of the Crew Ship. Then, remove both the Crew and the Ship from the board, returning them to your personal supply.
- An outpost built in this way does not directly cost you anything. You already “paid” for it by purchasing the ship and Crew that you lost when you constructed the outpost.
- When you build an outpost in this way, it does not need to be connected to one of your trade routes. You may, however, build trade routes out from the outpost. If one of your trade routes eventually connects your outpost with one or more of your other buildings, the trade route is considered “closed.” A ship, road, or bridge in a closed trade route may not be moved later.
Some general rules apply to all outposts:
- When you build an outpost, you do not have to observe the Distance Rule that applies to other buildings. Therefore, you may build an outpost on an intersection that is adjacent to another outpost or any other building!
- An outpost is worth 1 Victory Point. When you build an outpost, you must place 1 Victory Point Chit in front of yourself.
- Despite having a sloped roof, an outpost does not harvest resources from any producing hexes or tiles surrounding the intersection it is on. However, if the outpost is on a harbor, you may obtain the benefits of that trade.
- You may not upgrade an outpost to a settlement, town, or city.
Jump to the previous article!
Jump to the next article!