This is placeholder Text!
Before you read this article, you will need to know the following terms and definitions:
|Game(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A standalone version of Settlers of Catan, which can be played right out of the box without making additional purchases. There is only one standalone (base) game of Catan.|
|Expansion(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. An Catan game that cannot be played by itself. It must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The 5 & 6-player expansions are a good example of this.|
|Scenario(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A small set of playing pieces and instructions that can be added to normal Catan gameplay. It cannot be played by itself--it must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The "Oil Springs" scenario is a good example of this.|
|Variant(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A set of instructions for using the pieces from a Catan game or expansion in a new way. Most variants are fan-generated and require printing and cutting out new pieces.|
Friends are similar to helpers, in that they each have special abilities that you can use during the game, and they each have two sides: an “A” side (that’s the blue side) and a back “B” side (that’s the red side).
Sort all of the Friend Cards into four piles according to the Chapter Number (book icon) in the lower-left corner of each. Place the four piles of Friend Cards in a Display next to the board. Make sure to separate them from Helper Cards.
Friends of Catan
During the game, you may receive Friend cards as rewards for completing the tasks assigned by the Council of Catan. Each card depicts a character that has an ability that you can use up to twice during the game. Unlike Helper cards, once you receive a Friend card, you keep it for the rest of the game.
- You cannot trade or steal a Friend card. You cannot receive a Friend card from the discard pile.
- Each Friend card has an “A” side and a “B” side. When you receive a Friend card, place it in front of yourself (in your personal supply) with its “A” side up.
- You may use the Friend card’s ability as soon as you receive it, if the card’s rules allow it. After you use the Friend card’s ability for the first time, you must immediately turn the card “B” side up. You may then use the Friend card’s ability one more time during the game. After using a Friend card’s ability for the second time in a game, place the Friend card into a discard pile.
- Unless otherwise specified, you cannot use a Friend card’s ability twice in a given turn.
Important: Once per turn, you may use no more than 1 Friend card. Normally, you may only use a Friend card during your own turn. There are 2 Friends that are exceptions to this rule. You can use Oda’s and Reiko’s abilities when any player resolves the Event Card Production Number.
A more complete description of each Friend card can be found in the sections relevant to their powers.
Friend of Catan: Nyala
Place the Friend card “Nyala the Diplomat” right beside the Gold Mining Progress Tile.
Return the Robber to His Starting Place: During your turn, you may use this card’s ability and immediately move the Robber off the board. Then, you may take 1 Resource Card from the supply of the type produced by the hex you removed him from.
- You may use this card’s ability during any turn (even during other player’s turns). However, you may not use this card’s ability during any Special Purchase Phase.
- You may not move the Robber a second time if he is already off the board. Therefore, you may only use this card’s ability once per turn. In other words, you may not use this card’s ability twice in the same turn (yours or someone else’s).
- You may not use this card’s ability to select a Commodity Card. However, you may use this card’s ability to select a Spice Card, if you move the Robber off a Spice hex.
- After using this card’s ability once, flip the card over to its “B” side. After using this card’s ability a second time, place the card in the discard pile.
Jump to the previous article!
Jump to the next article!