This is placeholder Text!

Before you read this articleyou will need to know the following terms and definitions: 

Game(-s): Noun. Singular or Plural. A standalone version of Settlers of Catan, which can be played right out of the box without making additional purchases. There is only one standalone (base) game of Catan.
Expansion(-s): Noun. Singular or Plural.  An Catan game that cannot be played by itself. It must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The 5 & 6-player expansions are a good example of this.
Scenario(-s): Noun. Singular or Plural. A small set of playing pieces and instructions that can be added to normal Catan gameplay. It cannot be played by itself--it must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The "Oil Springs" scenario is a good example of this.
Variant(-s): Noun. Singular or Plural. A set of instructions for using the pieces from a Catan game or expansion in a new way. Most variants are fan-generated and require printing and cutting out new pieces.



  • Blue (Politics):
    • 2 Intrigue (Displace opponent's round knight with your own, on connected intersection)
    • 1 VP Constitution
    • 2 Warlord (activate all round knights for free)
    • 2 Saboteur (players with more VPs than you must discard half of all resource/commodity cards)
    • 2 Diplomat (relocate one open road)
    • 2 Deserter (opponent loses 1 round knight. You get one  round knight of equal strength)
    • 2 Wedding (players with more VPs than you give you two resource/commody cards of their choice)
    • 2 Bishop (Move Robber or Privateer, take 1 random resource card from each adjacent player)
    • 2 Spy (Examine enemy's personal supply of progress/development cards and take one. No stealing spy cards)

2 Intrigue

You may displace an opponent’s round knight for free.  The opponent’s knight must be on an intersection connected to at least one of your trade routes.  With this card, you can displace an opponent’s round knight without using a round knight of your own.  You can play this card, even if you have no round knights of your own.  The displaced round knight must be move to an empty intersection space.  If he cannot, then remove him from the board (return it to its owner).  After the round knight is displaced, you may place a Basic Knight in its place, following the normal rules.

1 VP Constitution

This card awards you 1 Victory Point.  You must immediately play this card face-up in front of you when you draw it, even if it is not your turn.  You may not keep this Victory Point card in your hand.  Because it has been played in front of you, it does not count toward your personal supply limit of 4 Progress Cards. Once played in front of you, it may not be stolen by the Spy Progress Card.

2 Warlord

When you play this card, you may activate all of your round knights for free. This allows you to flip all of your Basic Knights, Strong Knights, and Mighty Knights (of your color) over to their “activated” side. When you play this card, you can activate your round knights without paying any grain.  Remember that a round knight may not perform any actions during the same turn in which he is activated, but you can activate him in the same turn after he has performed an action.

2 Saboteur

Your agents spread chaos in your opponents’ dwellings! When you play this card, each of the other players (not you) who has at least as many Victory Point as you (as many or more) must discard half (rounding down) of his resource/commodity cards to the general supply.  Each player may choose which half of his cards to discard.  The Saboteur card only impacts resource/commodity cards, not tokens, Progress Cards, or Development Cards.

2 Diplomat

When you play this card, you may remove any “open” road.  An “open” road is a road at the beginning or end of a chain of roads, boats, and bridges that do not have a round knight or building of the same color attached at one end.  In other words, and “open” road is part of an “open” trade route, without another one of your road, bridge, boat, or building pieces at one end.

  • You may not move an “open” bridge or an extra “open” boat.
  • If you remove an opponent’s road, it returns to his personal supply. The Diplomat card cannot be used to affect bridges or ships controlled by any players.
  • If you remove your own road, you may immediately place it somewhere else on the board, free of charge (following all the normal building rules—connected to one of your existing trade routes or buildings). You may remove your own road and choose not to replace it, but it must be returned to your personal supply (to be repurchased at a later time).
  • If you move a road adjacent to a river hex, you must pay 1 gold to the bank (if moving your own roads) or to the player who owns the road (if affecting an opponent’s road).

2 Deserter

When you play this card, you must choose an opponent with at least one (1) round knight.  That player must remove one (1) of his round knights from the board. If he has more than one (1) round knight on the board, he may choose which one to remove.  You may then place one (1) of your own round knights on the board (the normal rules for placing round knights apply).  The strength of the new round knight  must be equal to the strength of the round knight your opponent removed.  If your opponent chooses to remove a round knight that you do not have available (for example, if he removes a Strong Knight and both of your Strong Knights are already on the board), you may place a Basic Knight instead.  If you cannot place any round knights, your opponent must still remove one of his round knights.  You simply lose the opportunity to place a round knight for free.  If your opponent removes a Mighty Knight, you may place one of your Mighty Knights, even if you have not yet built the “Fortress” building improvement (Politics—blue).  The round knight you place has the same status (active or inactive) as the round knight your opponent removed.

2 Wedding

When you play this card, each of your opponents who has more visible Victory Points (chits, award tiles, trade tokens, development cards, etc.) than you must give you 2 resource/commodity cards from their hand, if possible.  Players with an equal number of Victory Points as you, or fewer, are not affected by this card.

  • Any of the players with more Victory Points than you may choose which combination of resource/commodity cards they give you. They may also choose to substitute 2 gold for one or both of the resource/commodity cards they give you.
  • If a player giving you resource/commodity cards does not have enough, they must give you two (2) gold instead. If they do not have enough cards or gold, they are only required to give you what they have.

2 Bishop

Move the Robber (Privateer? Raider Ship?), following the normal rules.  Draw 1 random resource/commodity card from each player who has a building (Barge? Ship?) next to the Robber’s new hex, instead of only 1 player.  If a player has more than 1 building there, you can still only steal 1 card from that player.  The Bishop card can only be used to draw cards, never tokens (like oil).

2 Spy

When you play this card, you may examine another player’s personal supply of progress/development cards and take one (1).  You may choose one (1) card to take and add it to your hand. The Spy Progress Card allows you to look at all of another player's Progress and Development cards in their hand, not just their Progress Cards. If this acquisition bumps you up to 5 or more Progress Cards in your hand, you must play or discard enough cards to bring your hand size down to 4.  However, the Spy Progress card may not be used to steal another Spy Progress Card. No stealing spy cards.  You may even steal another Spy card and play it immediately, or save it for later.  Victory Point cards cannot be stolen.

Jump to the previous article!

Jump to the next article!


What Are You Looking For?

Would you like to join our playtesting team? Send us a message to get started!