This is placeholder Text!
Before you read this article, you will need to know the following terms and definitions:
|Game(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A standalone version of Settlers of Catan, which can be played right out of the box without making additional purchases. There is only one standalone (base) game of Catan.|
|Expansion(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. An Catan game that cannot be played by itself. It must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The 5 & 6-player expansions are a good example of this.|
|Scenario(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A small set of playing pieces and instructions that can be added to normal Catan gameplay. It cannot be played by itself--it must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The "Oil Springs" scenario is a good example of this.|
|Variant(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A set of instructions for using the pieces from a Catan game or expansion in a new way. Most variants are fan-generated and require printing and cutting out new pieces.|
Move Military Forces (resolving only mild conflict)
Crew Members, Wagons and Knights may move 3 spaces for free, or 5 spaces if a grain or two fish is spent. Horseback knights may move onto ships, but only ships that are the same color as the knight (owned by the same player). Horseback knights may move onto any “space” that borders at least one land hex, without restriction. They may not end movement on the Castle hex.
A side of hex, and the space between two of them, is defined as a path. Each path can only hold at one time 2-unit pieces.
Show pieces and their length, using a ruler (Wagon=2, Crew=1, etc.)
The biggest problem with “Legend of the Sea Robbers” is that it places “units” (crews) on intersections. I like the idea that they perform many different functions, though. The chapter format is fun and entertaining, and I like how previous actions carry forward without hurting you too much. The new frame pieces are cool, too! (They would appear to fit into my existing frame, but do they work upside-down?)
The multitude of pirate ships is a good idea for “fighting your way” across the sea. The spice hexes are a better idea than the ones from E&P. The bags are tokens that must be transported? First outpost adjacent to spice hex gives you trading option card. Two or three military strength next to gold tile intersection “pans for gold.” No building roads on E&P islands?
Basic Movement Rules
Intersections are like pit-stops: plenty of room to turn around, pass others, and park. That’s why multiple Wagons can pass each other and stop at the same intersection. It doesn’t cost a Wagon anything to stop at an intersection containing an opponent’s building, but there is conflict if a Wagon tries to stop at an intersection containing an opponent’s circular knight.
Paths (between two hexes) are like one-lane highways: they only allow one direction of traffic at a time. Because traveling in two different directions at the same time is not permissible, two Trade Routes CANNOT be built on the same path. This is why only one Strong Knight on Horseback may occupy a path, why two Crews may occupy a path, and why only one ship (or only one Strong Knight on Horseback, or only 2 Crews) may occupy a coastal path. Of course, the military forces could be “boarded” onto the ship, but this would require a “port” (which type of building?) and the use of movement points (how many?).
The purpose of the new expansion (Legend of the Sea Robbers) is to allow players to work together. But that’s what the toll is for! Special Power Idea: Tax Evasion! Avoid tolls when traveling on the networks of opponents.
Because trade routes can only handle one direction of travel at a time, Donkey Carts and Blockade Runners block all traffic on paths. A single piece can fully block travel along a corridor.
Dictate how resources are carried on ships.
When a Strong Knight on Horseback is placed on a path surrounding the castle, he occupies one full side (regardless of the existence of a trade route). A second Strong Knight on Horseback may not be placed there, until the first has moved off. If a Strong Knight on Horseback is placed on a castle path that has an opponent’s trade route on it, he does not need to pay a toll. However, a Strong Knight on Horseback may not be placed on a path that is blocked by a Donkey Card or Blockade Runner (can they block this?). Generally, you must move your Knights off the castle paths as soon as possible (look up rule?). You are not permitted to end the movement of Crews or Strong Knights on Horseback on a path adjacent to a castle, even if the purpose of the military forces is to capture adjacent Barbarians. Barbarians may not be placed on castle hexes (can they?).
If you cannot immediate play a Barbarian Attack Knight Development Card you just purchased (because all the paths surrounding it are occupied), then you may save it until your next turn. Since Development Cards are not permitted to be played during Phase 14: Conduct Special Purchases, you must wait until your next turn to place a Strong Knight on Horseback.
Special Power Idea: Parking Permit! You may end the movement of your Crews and Strong Knights on Horseback on paths surrounding the castle hexes. This allows you to block opponents from placing new Strong Knights on Horseback.
Passing (should this go under mild conflict?):
If one of your Strong Knights on Horseback is parked on a path, and another of your Strong Knights on Horseback or Wagons wishes to pass, they may do so freely. The Knight may not end its movement on that path, however. If one of your Knights is parked on a path, and an opponent’s Wagon or Knight wishes to pass, there is conflict that must be resolved.
- Strategic Summary:
- Building roads is valuable, because it allows players to do five things:
- Extend their network, building new settlements along the way.
- Connect their network, earning Favor Tokens along the way.
- Speed up the travel of their Wagon Trains, earning Victory Points along the way.
- Charge opposing Wagon Trains tolls, earning gold coins along the way.
- Wagons have the following powers:
- Upgrade movement points throughout game.
- Toss dice to pass along Barbarian-infected hexes.
- Use more movement points on undeveloped paths, less on developed roads.
- Pay tolls to use the roads of opponents or to pass opposing armed forces.
- Strong Knight on Horseback have the following powers:
- Traveling along Barbarian-occupied hexes without penalty.
- Blocking other Strong Knights on Horseback from passing, without tossing dice.
- Charging tolls to passing Wagons of opponents.
- Moving three spaces, regardless of the terrain (developed or undeveloped).
- Traveling freely on roads of opponents (as long as they are not occupied by opposing armed forces).
- Barbarians have the following powers:
- One Barbarian blocks Wagon Trains on undeveloped sides of occupied hexes.
- Two Barbarians block Wagon Trains on all sides of occupied hexes.
- Three Barbarians prevent harvesting and traveling Wagons on occupied hex.
- Crews from Explorers & Pirates have a Strength of 1 and cost 1 Sheep + 1 Ore. Basic Knights from Cities & Knights also have a Strength of 1 and cost 1 Sheep + 1 Ore. Because Crews travel on the edges of hexes, two crews can share a side of a hex together; they have a combined Strength of 2 when working together. Because Basic Knights travel on intersections, they may not share a space.
- No Swapping Allowed:
- Although they both have a Strength of 1 and perform similar functions, a Crew from Pirates & Explorers MAY NOT be swapped for a Basic Knight from Cities & Knights, or vice versa. A Crew moves on the edges of hexes. A Basic Knight moves on the intersections of hexes.
- Although they both have a Strength of 2 and perform similar functions, a Strong Knight on Horseback from Traders & Barbarians MAY NOT be swapped for a Strong Knight from Cities & Knights. Neither of them may be split into any combination of weaker knights. A Strong Knight on Horseback moves on the edges of hexes. A Strong Knight moves on the intersections of hexes.
- A Mighty Knight from Cities & Knights may not be split into any combination of weaker knights. A Mighty Knight moves on the intersections of hexes.
- A Strong Knight on Horseback from Traders & Barbarians can only be activated through the use of Traders & Barbarians development cards, and has a Strength of 2. Because Strong Knights on Horseback cannot be directly purchased, Crews and Basic Knights (with Strengths of 1) cannot be combined or upgraded to Strong Knights on Horseback.
- Two Crews MAY be combined into an activated Strong Knight from Cities & Knights, with a Strength of 2. The Crews must be adjacent to an eligible intersection in order to combine. The resulting Strong Knight will be placed on that intersection.
- A Crew may also be combined with a Basic Knight to form a Strong Knight. The Crew and Basic Knight must be adjacent to each other, and the Strong Knight is placed on the intersection formerly occupied by the Basic Knight. If the Basic Knight was activated, the resulting Strong Knight is also activated. If the Basic Knight was deactivated, the resulting Strong Knight is also deactivated.
- One Crew may be upgraded to a deactivated Strong Knight for a cost of 1 Sheep + 1 Ore (the same cost as upgrading a Basic Knight to a Strong Knight). The Crew must be adjacent to an eligible intersection, where the Strong Knight may be placed.
- A player must have achieved a third-level building improvement in order to upgrade or combine any of his weaker forces into a Mighty Knight. Here are the possible combinations:
- Three Crews (Two on one hex-side, one on another hex-side, all adjacent to the eligible destination hex intersection)
- Two Crews and One Basic Knight (Two Crews on any hex-sides adjacent to a Basic Knight on an eligible hex intersection. Both Crews can be on the same side of a Basic Knight, or on either side)
- One Crew and One Strong Knight (One Crew on any hex-side adjacent to a Strong Knight on an eligible hex intersection)
- Note that Basic Knights or Strong Knights can never be combined with other Basic Knights or Strong Knights, because they can never be adjacent to each other—they are always separated by the side of a hex!
- Each side of a hex can only hold a military force with a combined Strength of 2. Therefore, the side of a hex can only support two Crews or one Strong Knight on Horseback.
- Two Crews from different players may share the same side of a hex.
- Because of their greater strength, Strong Knights on Horseback displace Crews if they end their movement on the same side of a hex. The displaced player may relocate his displaced Crew to an available adjacent hex’s side. If there is no available space to retreat to, the player loses his Crew. A player may not displace his own Crews.
- When the grey Barbarian Invasion Marker reaches the end of its track, the Barbarians launch a full-scale invasion of all landmasses. All active Knights count, including Crews and Strong Knights on Horseback. The player who contributes the strongest force to the victory gets a victory point, but loses one of his Crews. If he has no Crews who contributed, he loses a Strong Knight on Horseback. If he has no Strong Knights on Horseback, he loses one of his Basic Knights. If he has no Basic Knights, he loses one of his Strong Knights. If he has no Strong Knights, he loses one of his Mighty Knights.
- As in Traders & Barbarians, when a new building or building upgrade is built on a landmass, three Barbarians (Each with a Strength of 1) are placed on that landmass according to the roll of a dice. After each Barbarian Invasion is resolved when the grey Barbarian Invasion Market reaches the end of its Track, additional Barbarians are placed, equivalent to the number of cities on the board.
- Crews have three movement points per turn, while Strong Knights on Horseback have four (as do ships).
- It costs two movement points to move onto the unpaved side (without a road or boat) of a hex (soldiers cannot move over the unpaved sides of sea hexes without boats, but they can move along unpaved hex shorelines). It costs only one movement point to move onto the paved side (with a road or boat) of a hex. If the road or boat is the moving player’s, there is no toll fee. If the road or boat belongs to an opponent, the player must pay that player a fee of 1 gold (one small coin) to move along the network of roads. If the player moves his piece off an opponent’s network and then back on during the same turn, he must pay 1 gold (one small coin) each time he uses the network. If the player moves his piece onto the side of a hex occupied by an opponent’s pirate ship, he must pay that player a fee of 1 gold (one small coin) to move onto it. It costs an extra movement point to move onto a side of a hex occupied by a robber, pirate lair, or barbarian.
- Note that movement points do not count when loading or unloading ships at harbor settlements. They do count, however, when loading or unloading ships without the benefit of a harbor settlement. Once loaded, cargo (Basic Footsoldiers, Strong Knights on Horseback, Spice Bags, Fish, etc.) cannot be shifted between ships at seas (unless special powers are granted). Ships and cargo can be move incrementally (using part of their movement points, then using the rest later during the turn) only when they have not performed an action. For example, if a Basic Footsoldier or Strong Knight on Horseback engages in battle, it is done for the turn, even if it has not used all of its movement points. If a ship discovers a new hex, both it and its cargo are done moving. Up to two extra movement points can be given to each individual cargo or ship per turn by paying one grain (bread for the soldier) or one sheep (sails for the ship), respectively. Extra movement points cannot be used for other cargo and ships.
- Any armed forces, wagons, or ships of opponents trying to pass through an intersection occupied by the current player’s knight must pay tribute of 1 gold (one small coin), just as if they were traveling along another’s transportation network. Wagons and other knights may not end movement on an occupied intersection (except when displacing another knight).
- Building roads is valuable, because it allows players to do five things:
Jump to the previous article!
Jump to the next article!