This is placeholder Text!
Before you read this article, you will need to know the following terms and definitions:
|Game(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A standalone version of Settlers of Catan, which can be played right out of the box without making additional purchases. There is only one standalone (base) game of Catan.|
|Expansion(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. An Catan game that cannot be played by itself. It must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The 5 & 6-player expansions are a good example of this.|
|Scenario(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A small set of playing pieces and instructions that can be added to normal Catan gameplay. It cannot be played by itself--it must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The "Oil Springs" scenario is a good example of this.|
|Variant(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A set of instructions for using the pieces from a Catan game or expansion in a new way. Most variants are fan-generated and require printing and cutting out new pieces.|
In this game, multiple development-card decks are used. Use the :
When you buy a development Card, draw the top card from the deck you choose. Development cards never go back into the supply, and you cannot buy development cards if the supply is empty. Keep your development cards hidden (in your personal supply) until you use them, so your opponents can’t anticipate your play. At any time during your turn, you may play as many development cards per turn as you wish. If the card allows, you can play the card at any time, even before the Event Card is drawn and resolved. To play a development card, place it face up on the table and read it aloud to all players. However, you may not play a development card during the same turn you purchased it. There are two exceptions to this rule:
- Victory Point Cards may be played any time you wish (even during an opponent’s turn?). They may be played immediately, or may be held for a surprise victory. Keeping a Victory Point Card hidden gives you both the element of surprise and protection from situations such as the “Richest Setter” Award. However, holding a victory point in your personal supply for extended periods of time runs the risk of it being stolen during events such as the Spy Progress Card.
- Example: If you buy a card and it is a Victory Point card that brings you up to the number of Victory Points necessary to win the game, you may immediately reveal this card (and all other VP cards) and win the game.
- Most of the cards in the Barbarian Attack Deck may be played immediately.
Helper of Catan: Candamir
Candamir is the protagonist of the novel “The Settlers of Catan,” in which Rebecca Gablé tells the story of the first settlers on Catan. Candamir is a master carpenter and a down-to-earth character. Securing his resource income comes first for him.
His favorite saying: “The best diplomats are a sharp axe and a keen sword” testifies to his rather harsh tone. However, this should not belie the fact that his heart is in the right place.
Search Development Cards: Use this advantage only 1 time during your turn. When you buy a development card, you may substitute 1 of the 3 resources with any 1 other resource of your choice (). In other words, you may replace one resource with any other resource. Additionally, when taking that development card, instead of drawing 1 card at random from the top of the development card deck, draw the top 3 cards and choose 1 of them to keep. Return the 2 cards you did not choose, and reshuffle the development card deck.
Friend of Catan: Jerok
Buy Development Cards Without Ore: When you purchase a development card, you may use this card’s ability and immediately pay 1 wool and 1 grain (instead of the usual cost of 1 wool, 1 grain, and 1 ore).
- You may use this card’s ability on your own turn, or during the Special Purchase Phase of other player’s turns.
- You may use this card’s ability more than once per turn. In other words, you may use this card’s ability twice in the same turn.
- This card’s ability only applies to purchasing development cards from the following decks:
- Original Settlers of Catan Development Cards
- Traders & Barbarians Development Cards
- Barbarian Attack Development Cards
- You may not use this card’s ability to purchase Cities & Knights Progress Cards.
- After using this card’s ability once, flip the card over to its “B” side. After using this card’s ability a second time, place the card in the discard pile.
Jump to the previous article!
Jump to the next article!