This is placeholder Text!
Before you read this article, you will need to know the following terms and definitions:
|Game(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A standalone version of Settlers of Catan, which can be played right out of the box without making additional purchases. There is only one standalone (base) game of Catan.|
|Expansion(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. An Catan game that cannot be played by itself. It must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The 5 & 6-player expansions are a good example of this.|
|Scenario(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A small set of playing pieces and instructions that can be added to normal Catan gameplay. It cannot be played by itself--it must be used in conjunction with a standalone (base) game. The "Oil Springs" scenario is a good example of this.|
|Variant(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A set of instructions for using the pieces from a Catan game or expansion in a new way. Most variants are fan-generated and require printing and cutting out new pieces.|
If one of your ships connects to an intersection adjacent to a hex occupied by a sea robber ship, you immediately attack that sea robber ship. To this end, you reveal the topmost sea robber card from one of the two stacks:
- If you only have defeated fewer than 2 sea robber ships so far, reveal the topmost card depicting the number “0” and a ship on the back.
- If you already have defeated 2 or more sea robber ships, you reveal the topmost card depicting 2 ships and a plus sign on the back.
The number of clay jugs on the cards denotes the number of clay jugs on the ship tile needed to prevail against the sea robber ship.
Compare the number of clay jugs on the card with the number on your ship tile covered by your marker:
You Lose the Battle
- If your number of clay jugs is less than the number of clay jugs on the sea robber card, you fail to sink the sea robber ship. You must remove the ship that you placed to start the battle. To make up for your loss, you may take either 1 lumber or 1 wool from the supply.
- If your number of clay jugs is equal to the number of clay jugs on the sea robber card, you must move your ship according to the Catan: Seafarers rules. This also applies if you had already moved one of your ships during the same turn.
You Win the Battle
- If your number of clay jugs is greater than the number of clay jugs on the sea robber card, you have sunk the sea robber ship. You remove the sea robber ship from the game board and place it in front of yourself. In addition, you take the chest token that was lying under the sea robber ship.
Note: The reward depicted on the back of the chest tokens do not represent the contents of the chest. Instead, they area reward from the Council of Catan for returning the stolen possessions to their rightful owners.
Redeeming Chest Tokens
When you acquire a chest token, you may look at the reward side. Then, place if into your personal supply (so the chest side is facing up). The following rules apply:
- When you retrieve a chest token, you can’t use it to claim the reward until a subsequent turn.
- You may only redeem 1 chest token per turn.
- You may only redeem 1 chest token during your own
- You may redeem 1 chest token and play as many development cards as you wish during the same turn (but you may not play a development card you just received from redeeming a chest token).
- You may not trade chest tokens.
When you redeem a chest token, you reveal the reward printed on the back and place the chest token face-up into a discard pile beside the board. You may then receive 1 of the following rewards which corresponding with the chest token you just redeemed:
- Build either 1 road or 1 boat for free. You may not build a bridge.
- Take any 1 resource card of your choice from the supply. You may not take a spice card.
- Take 1 development card from the top of any of the 3 Development Card decks.
- Take the 2 resource cards depicted from the supply.
Friend of Catan: Captain Dever
Bonus for Returning Chest: When you turn in a sea chest to the Council of Catan, you may use this card’s ability and immediately take 1 Resource Card of your choice. This is in addition to the reward shown on the back of the sea chest.
- You may only use this card’s ability on your own turn (not during other player’s turns or any Special Purchase Phase).
- Since you may only redeem 1 chest token per turn, you may only use this card’s ability once per turn.
- You may not use this card’s ability to select a Spice Card or Commodity Card.
- If you redeem a chest token that rewards you with two Resource Cards, you may still receive a third Resource Card by using this card’s ability.
- After using this card’s ability once, flip the card over to its “B” side. After using this card’s ability a second time, place the card in the discard pile.
After the Battle
After the battle, place the sea robber card face down under the corresponding stack. Then shuffle the stack. After a battle against a sea robber, your turn ends, regardless of the result of that battle. So, it is a good idea to start a battle only after you have performed other important actions such as building or trading.
Driving Away another Player’s Personal Warship
In order to attempt to chase away an opponent’s personal warship, you must have at least one battle-ready ship. A ship is battle-ready if the following 2 requirements are met:
- It must not have moved on this turn.
- One of its ends must be directly adjacent to one of the six intersections of the sea hex occupied by the opponent’s personal warship.
During your turn’s movement phase, each of your battle-ready ships may make 1 attempt to chase away an opponent’s personal warship.
To chase away an opponent’s personal warship, you roll 1 die for each of your battle-ready ships. If you roll a “6,” you successfully chase away your opponent’s personal warship; you may move your opponent’s personal warship onto a vacant, adjacent sea hex. The following also applies:
- A ship used to chase away an opponent’s personal warship may be moved in a regular fashion afterwards.
- If you failed to chase away your opponent’s personal warship, you must pay tribute to move your ship along the sea paths/routes of the pirate hex—or else you may not use those sea paths/routes.
Jump to the previous article!
Jump to the next article!