Resolving Seasonal Event
Before you read this article, you will need to know the following terms and definitions:
|Season(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A state or condition used by the CatanFusion Seasons Event Cards to denote the passage of time, determine the appropriate seasonal event (if any), and show the correct event die result.|
|Quadrant(-s):||Noun. Singular or Plural. A section of a CatanFusion Seasons Event Card containing a picture of a tree, a color, and a Cities & Knights event die roll result. The quadrant matches a season.|
NOTE: If you are using the yellow and red dice instead of any form of Event Cards, ignore the rest of this page. Otherwise, continue reading:
CatanFusion Seasons Event Cards (Decks B, C, and D):
The player first checks to see what the current Season is. The relevant "Change in the Weather" card will be residing in front of the player who drew it.
Next, the player identifies the quadrant of the current Event Card that matches the current Season, as follows:
- If the current "Change in the Weather" card reads "Spring Begins," the player must look at the Spring quadrant of the Event Card (the top-left, light-green quadrant with a blooming tree pictured).
- If the current "Change in the Weather" card reads "Summer Starts," the player must look at the Summer quadrant of the Event Card (the top-right, bright-yellow quadrant with a green-leafed tree pictured).
- If the current "Change in the Weather" card reads "Autumn Approaches," the player must look at the Autumn quadrant of the Event Card (the bottom-left, dark orange quadrant with a tree dropping leaves pictured).
- If the current "Change in the Weather" card reads "Winter Comes," the player must look at the Winter quadrant of the Event Card (the bottom-right, white quadrant with a bare tree pictured).
The player checks the current quadrant to see if it is the Featured Season (the season described in the text at the top of the card with a phrase that begins with "If the current season is..."). If the current "Change in the Weather" card matches the Featured Season on the Event Card, the player reads the Featured Season's title and the action description printed below the Featured Season's title. Then the player(s) perform the action, as appropriate.
Original, Official Catan Event Cards Rules Interpretations (Deck A):
The “Alchemist” progress card can only be played before the top Event Card is drawn. It is the only progress card that can be used before the top Even Card is drawn, and the results resolved. See Progress Card Clarifications
Weather and Holiday:
The Holiday and Weather cards show events that are based on the season. These cards are resolved in the normal order like other Event Cards, but different events will be printed inside the season boxes, instead of at the top of the card. Because there is no action printed at the top of the card, the player immediately moves to Phase 5: Resolve Event Card Event Die.
The Robber and the Highwaymen:
The deck contains six “Robber Attacks” cards. On these cards, there is no special action. Phase 5: Resolve Event Card Event Die occurs as usual, and then Phase 6: Resolve Event Card Production Number occurs. Since the production number is a “7” on “Robber Attacks” cards, the printed rules are then followed, regarding the placement of the Robber or Privateer (if the player chooses to move those two villains).
This deck also contains six “Highwaymen” cards. These cards work exactly like the “Robber Attacks” cards, except each of the “Highwaymen” cards alter the normal Robber Attacks rules slightly; sometimes they are less severe to certain players, sometimes more severe. These rules are only followed during Phase 6: Resolve Event Card Production Number.
In this example, after doing nothing during Phase 4 and resolving the event die in Phase 5, the players perform the normal “Rolling a Seven” rules. However, the two villains a player chooses may not be placed on a hex that is occupied by the single player who has the fewest VPs (this only applies to the Robber and Privateer).
If the Robber and/or Privateer are already on a hex occupied by the player with the fewest VPs, the player has no choice but to move them away, using up his chance to “move two villains.”
Jump to the previous article!
Jump to the next article!